June Is Bustin’ Out All Over

malboro

BE MALBORO.

Cigarette ad notwithstanding, I think “Don’t Be A Maybe” is good advice–for me, anyway.

I’ve always been contemplating much about what I want to do in my life, in general. I believe so many of us are at a crossroads, that uncertainty is evident in these situations. It doesn’t stop at two different paths, no, there are a lot of roads to chose from and it takes a toll on us, because what if it’s not the best choice. Whether or not what I have chosen is the right or the best thing to do, I take other people’s opinions into consideration. And then it becomes into another round of What If I Let My Parents Down. Because, let’s face it, the real world is different. I’m still studying now, enjoying my life leisurely, being an eighteen year old. Later on, I will have to graduate. After I get my degree or something, I will probably say, very loudly, and then what?

The thing is, the word maybe slips out of my mouth more often than I’d like, and I’m not feeling down about it at all. It’s just that inevitable. I’m human, I’m likely wired to say that word once a day.

Maybe it would happen, maybe it would not. Maybe it’s a good thing, maybe it’s a bad thing. Maybe I’d like to, maybe I don’t like to.

I always try to find something much better than what I have now, with my circumstances and with what had happened so far in my life. Sometimes I hope something better will come, sometimes I want to be someone better, and sometimes I want life to be better. Those kinds of thoughts cross my mind everyday, and it saddens me that I feel envy at what other people have, that I curse myself for lacking in so many departments.

But then, the optimist that I am, I say, hey, you know what, I don’t care.  Other people have it worse, and I shouldn’t be this down because not all things that I want to happen, happened. I have the necessities in life, and if I don’t have what I wanted…so? Luxury is not a need. I wake up and I live another day. That is what matters. Life is too short to be the Complaining Guy.

Whether I like it or not though, I’m truly uncertain that something better will come to pass.

But not if I don’t do something about it.

So taking the slogan literally, I won’t be a Maybe. I won’t be uncertain. Or at least, try to be, this month of June.

Multiple choice: A, B, C, D, E, F. None of the above, G. All of the above?

First instinct: D.

But what if–

No buts! Don’t be a Maybe.

Pick D, motherfucker.

Medical school sucks.

Leave a Reply

